Mifflinburg Buggy Museum
The borough of Mifflinburg began as two separate villages:
Youngmanstown and Greenville. As early as 1803, the villages were known jointly as Mifflingsburgh and officially became Mifflinburg in 1827.
In 1845, the first coach maker opened a shop, bringing a new industry to the town.
Over the next 84 years, over 80 coach makers would have shops here. Mifflinburg producers
made 5,000 vehicles annually and sold them nationally. As the buggy gave way to the
automobile, the factories closed and were converted for other purposes. Only one remained intact: the W.A.Heiss Coach Works. In 1978, a group of citizens wanted to
preserve and share the history of Buggy Town.
Today, the Mifflinburg Buggy Museum preserves the only intact
19th century carriage factory open to the public in the United States.
Take a step back in time and visit this rare survival.